Nominations open for WA innovation awards program

Nominations opened on Tuesday for the Western Australia Innovator of the Year Awards, a program running since 2006 and recognising the state’s “brightest talent for creating emerging new products, technology or services in the early stages of development.”

The total prize pool is $140,000, with the overall winner to be awarded $70,000. All finalists are eligible for business commercialisation training, as well as professional photos and a promotional video describing their innovation. 

“Finalists receive professional support to help commercialise a product, service or technology that can benefit WA by creating jobs and helping diversify our economy,” said WA innovation minister Stephen Dawson.

Six awards categories are recognised:

  • WA Innovator of the Year – Overall Winner;
  • Rio Tinto Emerging Innovation Category Winner;
  • Rio Tinto Growth Category Winner;
  • Woodside Energy Award Winner;
  • Business News Great for the State Award Winner; and
  • Wesfarmers Wellbeing Award.

Last year’s overall winner was RNA therapeutics startup Vision Pharma, which is developing a world-first precision medicine treating retinitis pigmentosa.

Nominations close at 11 am on May 31. Guidelines for applicants are available at this link.


Subscribe to our free @AuManufacturing newsletter here.


Share this Story

Stay Informed

Go to Top