Australian Engineering Excellence Award winners named


Engineers Australia has announced the winners of its Excellence Awards at an event in Sydney on Wednesday night, celebrating achievements in “space, safety, and skin printing”.

Major winners included:

  • The King Island UniWave200 Wave Energy Converter Project (pictured), “a world-leading proprietary technology that demonstrates conversion of the energy in ocean waves into clean and emissions free electricity”;
  • The Peter Nicol Russell Career Achievement Memorial Medal, awarded to Ampcontrol co-founder Peter Cockbain, who was described as “A leader, innovator and influential mentor in the electrical engineering field”;
  • Young Professional Engineer of the Year Deanna Hood, senior robotics engineer on Inventia’s ‘skin-printing robot’ Ligō, for work “with burns surgeons to reduce the lifelong impact that scarring has on bushfire, bombings, and other widespread-burns survivors”; and
  • Nicholas Clarke, named Engineering Technologist of the Year, whose work is in “space; communications; weapons; electronic warfare; intelligence, surveillance, target acquisition and reconnaissance (ISTAR) and project management.”

A list of the winners can be seen here.

“Our winners and finalists have this in common; an outstanding capacity to lead by example and work for the good of the community and the planet,” said Engineers Australia National President and Board Chair Dr Nick Fleming in a statement.

Picture: Wave Swell’s 200kW demonstration project (credit

Share this Story

Stay Informed

Go to Top